Home Away Home

It seems all good and interesting if you are a traveller and love exploring people and places. When I decided to move to an unknown country for my studies. I only knew that it is a lovely place with down-to-earth people. On arrival, I was contemplating on how my year long journey would be like. I was all full of mixed and overwhelming emotions.

I was all full of mixed and overwhelming emotions. How would be the institution like? How will be my teachers – helpful, flexing, strict? How would be peers – Anyone from my place? Would I be able to make friends who pursue this journey with me?

With all this in my mind, I reached Unitec for my Orientation programme. To my surprise, my class had only Asian students – many were Indians, and another bunch was from China, Vietnam and Sri Lankan. The best was to meet my first teacher here – Elena Kolesova who made our class felt so accommodating and interesting on the same day that I was already counting the days for the next class. It went frightening as the course progressed with assignments, and more expectations of our teachers to deliver our best which I felt was still missing…I could have done more! Days have passed with assignments, guest lectures, workshops, new learnings and much more. My travel bug was constantly biting me to get ready, pack my bags, and get ready to explore the place

My travel bug was constantly biting me to get ready, pack my bags, and get ready to explore the place. My first excursion was within the Auckland city where I was hanging around looking out for places to eat, and get to know more about the country I am in. The delight was to find Sky Tower, oh my god, it was high, NO, too high…It was an absolute delight to be there. I was loving it!

Then the city had a harbour with ships sailing across – all wrapped in the gentle breeze, live music, amazing architecture, scenic views, lovely moonlight, and not to miss bars and cafes.

The first scenic sight was awesome and forceful enough to look for more…

Leave a Reply

